Dime Missing Clad Layer

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by ace71499, Jan 10, 2017.

1. ace71499

ace71499 Young Numismatic

Hey guys,
    I while ago I posted a photo of this coin and asked the same question. The results were inconclusive because I didn't have a scale. Now that I do, I will ask the same question. Do you think it is possible that this dime is missing it's clad? It's missing about .4 grams
    Thanks,
    Jason

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

On both sides. No
    Missing Clad Layer usually only occurs on one side of a coin.
    The weight of one side of a Dime missing the clad layer is about 1.85 Grams
    What is the weight of your Dime? Oh I see it 2.23
    From my collection
    3019836-003.JPG

ace71499 likes this.
  4. Blissskr

Blissskr Well-Known Member

A clad dime is supposed to weigh 2.27 grams, yours is showing 2.23 that's .04 of a gram light or 4/100ths of a gram, which is well within mint tolerances. IMO looks like a regular toned dime.

paddyman98 likes this.
  5. usmc60

usmc60 SEMPER FI

Dime fake alert. Check my old thread out see if any look the same. Found quite a few of these in circulation.:blackalien:

6. usmc60

usmc60 SEMPER FI

7. usmc60

usmc60 SEMPER FI

8. ace71499

9. Blissskr

10. usmc60

usmc60 SEMPER FI

Swan likes this.
  11. usmc60

usmc60 SEMPER FI

I take offense of that. I think I proved quite adequately that the dimes I found in circulation, was someone's endeavor to electro plate the dimes that I found. And if I recall you to come up with anything different there was a lot of opinions. But when I can scratch off the electroplating I think that proves it. (But you are entitled to your opinion). USMC60

12. Blissskr