Security Against Gold & Silver Counterfeit Coins

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by Good Cents, Jan 17, 2019.

1. Good Cents

Good Cents Well-Known Member

As I've said in another thread, I'm new to bullion and have lots of questions. I've been reading a lot for the past few months and have invested some money as well, with an interest in investing a lot more.

My goals in obtaining bullion are for both passing gold and silver down to family one day down the line, as well as a form of keeping something tangible (other than cash) on hand to ease my lifelong dread of a scenario where life as we know it would fall apart, all heck would break loose, the electronic plug is pulled and cannot be retrieved for a long time, if ever, and the whole country (USA) is living as we did 200 years ago. No, I'm not a "Prepper", but my fears run deep (all my grandparents survived wartime scenarios where they escaped with their lives and anything they could carry, so, I suppose it made its impression...). Whether or not some awful scenario happens in my lifetime, it helps me to sleep at night to know that I have some currency on hand to buy life's necessities and survive.

My first question is about security and avoiding counterfeiting. Although I only buy from reputable sellers like APMEX, JM Bullion, etc, I see that counterfeiting has gotten better and better over the years.

Canadian Gold Maple Leafs seem to be ahead of this game by having radial lines and a microscopic privy.

Here are my questions:

1 - Can anyone other than a dealer with expensive Canadian equipment confirm the microscopic privy on the Canadian Gold Maple Leaf?

2 - If not, then can a layman rely on that as a security measure when buying Canadian Gold Maple Leafs from a non-dealer?