Featured Finally succumbed to the Greeks! The 12 Olympian gods..

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Spaniard, Jun 6, 2020.

1. Spaniard

Spaniard Well-Known Member

Well.....
    I've been collecting ancient coins now for many years and had managed to keep myself focused and steadfast on a few areas, Roman Imperial , Asian and the odd Iberic coins, right to the end!
    That 'end' came about 10 weeks ago and I remember it like it was yesterday!
    Normally, whilst on the hunt, blinkers on, never once looking left or right at the forbidden 'G' letter, homing in on my Roman, Asian, or Spanish prey!.....Then......
    It was a Saturday, late afternoon, strong winds and pouring with rain, lockdown and complete silence outside. There I was, sitting in front of my log burner, it was glowing and crackling in time to Debaussy's 'Clair de lune' and I was half way through a decent bottle of red 'Lagrimes'.....Flicking through a couple of my favourite sellers on vcoins with my defences low the inevitable happened, I purchased my first ever GREEK!....

So here's my first ever Greek coin!.....
    This is the start of a 12 Olympian gods set in bronze that I'll be working on over the coming year. It will be a slow and tight budgeted endeavour...But must say I'm finding the hunt and research very interesting and will post each new god as I acquire them....Thanks Paul.
    The 12 Greek gods who resided on Mount Olympus / The Roman equivalent.
    Greek / Roman
    1..Zeus / Jupiter
    2..Hera / Juno
    3..Athena / Minerva
    4..Apollo / Apollo
    5..Poseidon / Neptune
    6..Ares / Mars
    7..Artemis / Diana
    8..Demeter / Ceres
    9..Aphrodite / Venus
    10.Hermes / Mercury
    11.Hephaistos / Vulcan
    12.Dionysos / Bacchus
    Note..The Greeks did not always agree on the 12 and some lists include Hestia, Hercules or Leto, with Dionysos often the one replaced.

First of the dozen for me is.....

ATHENA.