Worth Getting BU Coins Graded?

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by shimps1, Jun 22, 2021.

1. shimps1

shimps1 Member

I have two 2021 American Gold Buffalos that I am holding for bullion value. However, I am curious if they are worth sending in to get graded. Would I see an increase in value to compensate for the cost of the grading? I am new to both coins and bullion, so I am still learning the rope on everything.

Both were purchased at a LCS, so I am thinking if they were really nice, the store would have had them graded themselves, so this is probably a waste of effort, but I am curious.

I also have a 2021 AGE and a 2021 Gold Maple coming soon. Those were purchased online, so they might have a better chance of being graded highly.

First:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Second:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

fretboard likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. mpcusa

mpcusa "Official C.T. TROLL SWEEPER"

Why ? most bullion coins come B/U, why
    pay more to get it graded and then try
    to cover that cost when you sale, this is
    a no brainer !

spirityoda likes this.
  4. midas1

midas1 Exalted Member

Run-of-the-mill AGEs are probably not worth grading. Most are released in 67,68,69 and some 70 condition. That being said I have several graded bullion coins that have significantly increased in value because they are graded MS70, First Strike, Limited Release, etc. There's a market out there for some graded bullion coins. Some users on Coin Talk get their panties in a bunch when the topic of graded bullion coins rears its ugly head.

tommyc03 suggests airtites which is an excellent idea.

Last edited: Jun 22, 2021
  5. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member

@shimps1 I can't say that I would have it slabbed but that is a personal choice for you. I can say that you should get it into an airtite capsule to prevent future possibility of damage from bumping or rubbing against something.