Word is China is

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by justafarmer, Apr 17, 2009.

1. justafarmer

justafarmer Senior Member

stockpiling industrial metals such as copper, nickel, aluminum and etc in lieu of gold as a move to ease away from dependency on the US Dollar.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. coinman0456

coinman0456 Coin Collector

Yes, this is true and don't be surprised they will be calling in the notes held.

4. bqcoins

bqcoins Olympic Figure Skating Scoring System Expert

I don't think they're ready to do that yet because they hold so much trade debt with us if our economy were to falter theirs would face a serious regression they are so heavily invested, however after 5 or 6 years of stockpiling industrial metals and such they would be ready to drop that sword of damocles.

5. coinman0456

coinman0456 Coin Collector

:vanish:Yes, this is what I have been screaming about for the last 10 years.

6. elaine 1970

elaine 1970 material girl

china yuan gonna replaces u.s. dollar as the major currency in the world soon. remember we replaced mexican peso before during 1800's.

7. TheNoost

TheNoost huldufolk

I agree. We have each other in a lock. They dump us, we stop buying their stuff. We dump them, they call in their money. If it does happen, I hope we dump them first.

8. Cloudsweeper99

Cloudsweeper99 Treasure Hunter

That's a guess, but by no means the only reason they might be stockpiling strategic industrial metals. The US used to do the same thing back in the days when we actually made things. China is also spending non-dollar reserves, and reducing dollar reserves might only be the second or third reason for the purchases. Unless and until China makes a public statement, nobody knows why they do the things they do.

9. Argento

Argento Perplexed

Even China doesn't want this. They favor a commodities-backed global reserve currency to replace the dollar.

10. justafarmer