What are some of your favorite silver world coins?

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by SilverMike, Feb 17, 2018.

1. SilverMike

SilverMike Well-Known Member

Hi,
    I've always been a silver U.S. coin guy but recently am looking at world silver too. I love silver due to the look, the toning, and I feel like I can usually recognize if the coin is original or not. World coins are so vast though...most of what is in my LCS is after 1850, with the majority between 1910 and 1970.

So, to those who have explored this area: what are some of your favorite countries, designs, etc.?
    Thanks!

old49er likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

You need to get the 2017 50th Anniv. South Africa Silver Krugerrand.
    Here is mine -
    received_10212498288236155.jpeg

Browns Fan, asheland, old49er and 2 others like this.
  4. Hus.thaler

Hus.thaler Well-Known Member

There are so many nice ones, but how about the 2 & 3 mark design from Prussia commemorating the 100th anniversary of the defeat of Napoleon (1913). If you ever wondered what the Germans thought of the French circa WWI, take a look at that German eagle hauling off a French snake. The imagery is less than...subtle.
    20180203_163933.jpg 20180203_163944.jpg 20180203_164003.jpg 20180203_164013.jpg

asheland, old49er, coin_nut and 2 others like this.
  5. OnceUponADime

OnceUponADime New Member