Wanting to collect ASE's

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by gabe4321, Jul 4, 2008.

1. gabe4321

gabe4321 Junior Member

Newbie here. Got my first ASE proof last week and decided to start collecting. I got the proofs down, the uncirculated not to sure about. Do they have mint marks and are they considered business strikes? I noticed on the mint website they sell the uncir coin with a mint mark, do earlier years have them? Also heard of a burnished coin. What do I have to look for when buying uncir coins??

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. jaceravone

jaceravone Member

Gabe -
    First of all, welcome to CT. I think that trying to put together a complete set of ASEs will be challenging but extremely rewarding. I have said before that the ASE series is our generations Morgan dollar. Other than the 95W, all the ASEs are attainable in both proof and UNC.

There have been three mint marks used on the proof ASEs. From the beginning of the series in 1986 the proofs were minted in San Fransisco then switched to Philadelphia in 1993 and as of 2001, West Point. Now, from 1986 - 2005 the ASEs were offered in a bullion type coin. These coins have been minted in Philadelphia, but the later issues were minted at West Point. None of these issues had a MM on them. In 2006, the mint released their three coin proof, reverse proof and Burnished UNC ASE. Both the proof and burnished UNC had the W mint mark and the reverse proof had the P mint mark.

Burnishing is where the coin undergoes a process which results in a matte (dull) finish. This is a very simple explanation, but more detail can be found by searching for this topic on CT.

So since 2006, other than the reverse proof of that year, I collect 3 ASEs to continue my set. These are the Proof, UNC, and Bullion. The "bullion" is UNC, but has no MM on it. I hope this helps. I am sure other members will have other info to add. Joe

4. tdec1000

tdec1000 Coin Rich, Money Poor :D