Valuing Coins

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by centsdimes, Jul 20, 2019.

1. centsdimes

centsdimes Active Member

I am an amateur coin collector, though I've been at this since the mid-sixties. I like to value my collection each year, and I've always used the Red Book to do that. Does the Red Book give an accurate measure of coins? Are there better publications for this purpose? Are there websites that do a good job valuing coins? (I've been using Numismedia. I'm also aware of the PCGS coin valuing pages, but I suspect they value coins a bit too high.)

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Seattlite86

Seattlite86 Outspoken Member

The two I use are PCGS Coinfacts and look at recent sales as well as numismedia. Seems you are tracking both. Other option is to look at eBay SOLD items (not what they're listed for, but actually sold for). That and buying a grey sheet are really the only ones. Keeping in mind, these are all for graded coins.

Stevearino and centsdimes like this.
  4. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

The Red Book is a great book but the values are not really helpful with current value. As said above auction values are a better guide.

Stevearino and centsdimes like this.
  5. centsdimes

centsdimes Active Member

6. centsdimes

centsdimes Active Member

The reason I like the Red Book and Numismedia is that I can value the collection rather quickly. The collection is rather large, and looking up auction prices for all the coins, a lot of which aren't worth much, would be very time-consuming.

7. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

Like Larry said, the Red Book is a poor source for valuation. You will never sell your coins for those prices. You would overpay for insurance riders, and you would never get an insurance company to pay those amounts for any claim should you sustain a loss.

Chris

Inspector43 and centsdimes like this.
  8. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder