Coin Imperfections

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by centsdimes, Jul 20, 2019.

1. centsdimes

centsdimes Active Member

I am an amateur coin collector who has been collecting coins since the 1960's. A number of my coins have minor (or even major) imperfections. My experience is that dealers will knock a few dollars off of such coins. But then, I find coin collectors on coin forums who wouldn't touch such coins. I guess the question is this: How do you place a value on lower grade coins that have small nicks, small scratches, slight discoloration, slight corrosion, and the like?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

Every collector has their own idea of what they like and don't like and what they are willing to pay. Whereas, a dealer has to think in terms of a broad base of collectors to generate business, some of whom, may like or dislike particular coins.

Chris

centsdimes likes this.
  4. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

A person that collects coins or anything else has their idiosyncrasies in their collection. Some people only collect midstate coins while others collect the lowest value coin they can find. Others try to collect one type of each coin ever made. Still other collectors try to assemble a complete collection of every coin made for that series. Then you have variety collectors, they want every room known variety.

In other words it's your collection collect what you like. Do not try to build your collection based on what others tell you is best for you.

As for trying to place a value on coins that have imperfections, the best you can do is come as close to the grade of that coin is possible, determine an average sold price and then you would just have to deduct a reasonable amount for the damage. A corroded coin is going to lower the value more than a coin that has some nicks.