US War Nickels

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by diburning, Feb 15, 2021.

1. diburning

diburning Member

I've had the opportunity to buy them at or below spot, but I've always wondered: Is the bullion value on these typically less than spot since they're only 35% silver? (If it ever became legal to melt them, wouldn't they require more effort to recover the silver from the manganese and copper)?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. SensibleSal66

SensibleSal66 U.S Casual Collector / Error Collector

I would think so . That's even if it's worth it . How many are we talking about ?

4. Nolan Workman

Nolan Workman Well-Known Member

I have watched a silver and gold refiner on You Tube, sreetips, seems the chemicals to pull the silver out of the nickels would cost more than the the value of the silver.

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Definitely! :inpain:

Oldhoopster likes this.
  6. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member

Yes, it would cost more to refine these and they are not the best choice for silver stacking. But each to their own.

SilverMike likes this.
  7. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

These are more of something you just save for the fun and history. This thread needs images.;)
    Image_1294.JPG Image_1296.JPG

8. mike estes

mike estes Well-Known Member

Capture.JPG
    hey diburning good question. ive seen videos on the subject on YouTube as Nolan Workman referred to. their quite interesting and informative. i would think the process would be more expensive but in the videos ive watched there are some creative thinking and some shortcut tips on getting the cost down.

9. Southpawdon

Southpawdon Member

In mint state these are beautiful coins and unique in history because of the war. I put together an MS collection of them and am quite pleased with the effort.

10. Mr.Q

Mr.Q Well-Known Member

Nice '44 Idhair. Where there is will, there will be a way, thanks for the post diburning.