Strategy for the beginner/intermediate investor?

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by steve-in-kville, Jun 25, 2016.

1. steve-in-kville

steve-in-kville New Member

I've been lurking here on the forum for over a year. I've been investing in silver off and on for about three years. I want to invest $100/month. My question is, what should I be buying? I've bought AE's, Maple leaf's as well as 1 and 5 oz. bars already. Some I've kept, some I've sold when I needed cash and the market was right.

I've heard people make the case for buying only numismatics, and I've read the benefits of buying bars and rounds. What should I be looking at? Should I buy a certain ratio of both?

If it helps, I buy a lot from Apmex and some from a local dealer.

Thanks in advance.

Tim Lackie Jr likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. World Colonial

World Colonial Active Member

At $100/month, some don't mind dollar cost averaging. I would rather save my money up and buy more at once, though it depends what you are buying. If ASE or ML, you can buy about five now for $100. If bars, I'd rather buy a ten or hundred ounce with a lower premium than multiple one ounce bars with a higher one.

If you are not a collector, I wouldn't buy any coins for "investment" (aka, speculation). You are more likely to lose money if you don't know what you are doing.

Lastly, if you have actually had to sell the silver you previously bought for liquidity purposes, I wouldn't buy anything. You need to build up some emergency savings first. Selling when you have to under financial duress will only increase your chances of losing money because of the transaction churn (between buy and sell spread) and possible unfavorable timing (buying high and selling low) will work against you.

4. Santinidollar

Santinidollar Supporter! Supporter