silver????

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by playin4funami, Dec 10, 2009.

1. playin4funami

playin4funami Junior Member

I am a newbie to silver buying and want physical silver. And of course I'm full of questions before I actually buy,so if you can help out I would really appeciate it.

#1. I was looking at some silver the other day and the owner/dealer stated the price and how he arrived at it,I was looking at a 10 oz. bar and he wanted spot price for the ten oz. plus five dollars an ounce "handling fee" is this ligit or is there usually a handling fee per sale or per ounce?
    50 dollar handling fee seemed pretty steep to me on 10 ounces!

#2. For those who collect silver,would it be in my best interest to buy 1oz. bars or larger size bars? I plan to buy what I can when I can,so some days it might be more or less,any thoughts or ideas on this? How about resale is it better to have multiple small sizes or a few larger ones?

#3. Are there any brands of silver bar I should avoid or are they all equal?

#4. Is there any special care of silver I need to know?

#5. Are there any fake stuff out there to watch out for?

Like I said I'm a complete newbie at this and a little nervous getting started,I've been researching everything about it I can find,but you all with experience are invaluable if you don't mind sharing the knowledge! Thank You!

Sorry , Also any buying hints other than buy low sell high would also be appeciated,thanks.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. SJVM

SJVM Long Time Gone