Silver - spot vs numismatic ?

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by crazyd, Dec 18, 2014.

1. crazyd

crazyd Well-Known Member

I am still new to collecting/investing. I am asking more experienced folks here. I was not sure if my question belonged in bullion or collecting, but since I see all the talk about drop in silver prices.

How much does spot price affect the more in demand/limited proof or graded coins? For example the 2013 West Point Silver Eagle set, or Standing Liberties?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Mojavedave

Mojavedave Senior Member

Numismatic value is subjective, most collectors will pay what they think is reasonable for a coin they want no matter what the ups and downs are on the market spot prices, IMHO.

4. green18

green18 Unknown member Sweet on Commemorative Coins Supporter

The only time it really affected things was when silver was at $35-$40......

Dealers would chisel you a little extra on modern commems. devil.gif

5. Jwt708

Jwt708 Well-Known Member

What I saw when silver spiked was certain coins lost their numismatic value when the price of silver exceeded the numismatic value, then the coins sold at melt prices.

6. Mr. Flute

Mr. Flute Well-Known Member

Standing Liberty quarters is a good reference point for this question.

Common circulated ones with legible dates generally sell for $7-$9. When silver spot was pushing their melt values to that price point the numismatic value was effectively zero, but now that spot/melt is around $2.80 per quarter, the numismatic value has gone back to $7+.

Though APMEX has rolls of for sale at about $4.50 per coin. Not bad.

isaiah58 likes this.
  7. TreasureSlugN1851

TreasureSlugN1851 Active Member

Lets put it this way... true rare numismatic coinage/artifacts have out performed bullion on every level for the last 50 years... with that being said.