Silver Eagle Reeded Edges...

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by killswitch95, Jan 10, 2020.

1. killswitch95

killswitch95 Member

Hi,

I know ASE's are supposed to have a reeded edge, but is it common for that edge to be somewhat sharp? I bought two from APMEX and the edge of one just seemed rough around the literal angle edge of the coin (From Obverse to Edge or Reverse to Edge, that 90 degree angle) and I was wondering if a 'Rougher than usual' edge can be expected sometimes...

It is a 2012 ASE if that means anything...

I'd post a picture but my phone can't take a picture of that magnification and clearly at the same time...

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Yes.. It's called finning. Don't cut yourself. It can be sharp.

4. killswitch95

killswitch95 Member

Ah, okay... I've never experienced a coin with that before so I was wondering what it was (Particularly if APMEX sold me a fake because I didn't think the mint would let that slide)...

paddyman98 likes this.
  5. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter

You can be confident in your Apmex purchase. They are a first class outfit. I purchase a lot of ASE’s from Apmex and it is not uncommon to see the sharp finned edges on them.

6. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

I want to be sure that I understand what you are trying to describe. The link below is a brief description of "Finning".

http://www.error-ref.com/finning/

As explained, it is a "leakage" of coin metal at the juncture where the die and the retaining collar meet. Most often, it is the result of excess striking pressure, but it can also occur if the collar is not seated properly.