Should I stop stacking silver?

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by Westtexasbound, Aug 1, 2013.

1. Westtexasbound

Westtexasbound Active Member

Should I shift a significant portion to Gold?

I am new to PM and got bit by the silver bug but several recent supply articles are making me rethink.

I am not a doomsday person or an economic collapse person. I respect it can happen but those are much further down my list. My main reasons.

1. Silver is consumable and becoming scarce. Article after article and YouTube videos showed this. Had not seen any recycle videos. I now know that there is a lot of recycling. I think some of the bars out there like to show their green side and tout recycled material.

2. Silver to gold ratio out of historical line. A material becoming more scarce will get in line but what about some that is over supplied and has closed mines.

3. Legacy. Think about if someone left you 1,000 or 2,000 or 5,000 silver coins. The flip side think if someone left you 20 or 30 one ounce gold coins. Pretty cool person either way.

4. The ASE is just beautiful

5. Cool world coins that are affordable

I still plan to pick up 10 world coins per year but thinking of only doing a single tube of ASE and then shifting to gold.

My three questions

1. Should I be talked out of this? Is there something to be sad about future scarcity?
    2. What percentage mix do those who split their PM purchases between gold and silver employ?
    3. What size coins do you like? Save up for an ounce or go fractional? How would you ideally split up on a percentage basis not considering cost ex. 25% 1 ounce 25% half ounce etc etc

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. bg35765

bg35765 Member

Silver is the opposite of scarce. More people than ever have rolls, bags, bars, and monster boxes of it in their basements or safe deposit boxes.