Royal Canadian Mint Gold Collector Coins

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by TTerrier, Mar 16, 2021.

1. TTerrier

TTerrier Well-Known Member

Hello everyone,

I have been collecting ancient coins for about 10 years and some world coins for the last 3. I recently picked up a few small (1/10 oz) gold bullion coins - Maple Leafs and Kangaroos.

The RCM has some really nice looking gold coins which seem to be aimed at collectors instead of bullion buyers because of the large premiums over spot. One I recently looked at was the 1/10 oz 100th anniversary of Canada's coat of arms - a beautiful coin but retails at $500 CDN which is basically double spot. There are also some Alex Colville commemoratives that are really nice.

I realize there is a premium over spot for collector coins but in people's experience do these collector premiums hold up over time? It seems like a really large premium and I wonder if there is enough market for these to maintain that. I can say that the RCM gold coins seem to sell out very quickly so there must be some interest.

Comments on how the value of these types of coins (ignoring bullion value) have held up over time would be much appreciated!

Thanks

GoldFinger1969 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. baseball21

baseball21 Well-Known Member

Canada is a bit of a weird market that can be a lot harder to recover premiums than some other countries. They put out a lot of stuff, a lot of it is very nice, but it's a lot. In general they put out more loser than winners in terms of premiums without significant spot changes.

I would avoid buying directly from their mint and give things a year or two on the after market (where most things will be readily available) and let that sort out the price more. By that point you can feel a lot more comfortable about the price setting more to where the market wants it to be

GoldFinger1969 and norantyki like this.
  4. norantyki

norantyki CoinMuncher