Roll Hunting Questions

Discussion in 'Coin Roll Hunting' started by Bambooski, Jun 2, 2013.

1. Bambooski

Bambooski Obsessed YN :)

Hi everyone! I am fairly new to roll searching, I mean I've been doing it for a while now but I have never gotten a box of coins, I always just get a few of each denomination, excluding halves and dollar coins. I was wondering, can I just go up to the teller and ask for a box of coins, or do I have to pre-order them or something? Also, do all banks have rolls of halves?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Pi man

Pi man Well-Known Member

1) Most of the time, yes, you can just go up to a teller and ask for a box.

2) Some banks do require you to order the boxes, just ask them and they'll tell you. It's always helpful to them to order ahead of time so they can be prepared.

3) No. As a matter of fact, no banks around at all me have rolls of halves. They occasionally get in a couple rolls, or some loose ones, but they never have them readily available.

Bambooski likes this.
  4. Bambooski

Thanks! I'll get a box soon. :)

5. gubni

gubni Active Member

Make sure you have a good relationship with the bank before asking for a box. In my opinion it is well worth the time to visit 20 or more banks and ask for half dollar rolls. I think calling would be equally productive, but I drive a lot so stop by when I can.

Bambooski likes this.
  6. Bambooski

The tellers at my bank are really lovely people and they understand that I am a roll searcher. :thumb:

7. scottishmoney

scottishmoney Buh bye

I have mine all bought off. They save me silver, silver certificates, older FRN's, even wheats if they see them. I bring candy, gift cards, hockey and baseball tickets. One just had a beeb so she is getting a Babies R Us gift card. I have gotten some pretty amazing stuff. Just the other day a teller handed me a 1945-S Merc dime that the coin machine rejected.

8. Rassi

Rassi #GoCubs #FlyTheW #WeAreGood