Repeal voted on and Passed.

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by Zeplyn, Mar 3, 2011.

1. Zeplyn

Zeplyn Dry Ink Seldom Smears

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. jcakcoin

jcakcoin New Member

What does this mean for us coin collectors? Why did you post this!

4. Fifty

Fifty Master Roll Searcher

You're new, read schedule D sometime. Over 200 posts in a month, we must have an expert among us.

5. jcakcoin

jcakcoin New Member

I'm not a coin expert at all. Let me do the math. 200 posts/30 days = about 7 posts/day.
    On CT 1.5 hour/day average, give or take an hour, taking me 13 minutes for one post. Not difficult.

Looked at it, never heard of it until now. Do any of you run a coin shop or a business?

6. bqcoins

bqcoins Olympic Figure Skating Scoring System Expert

plenty of people here deal, run a business, or vest pocket.

7. ratio411

ratio411 Active Member

It's a huge burden on business.
    I would think that it's huge news to all the business owners and investors here.

8. LostDutchman

LostDutchman Under Staffed & Overly Motivated Supporter

9. jcakcoin

jcakcoin New Member

Well, I don't run a coin shop, so it doesn't apply to me. I get it now. Now I'm thinking of it, cheaper coins!

10. Hobo

Hobo Squirrel Hater

Think again. Under the law that was passed as part of the healthcare bill a coin dealer (or any business for that matter) would be required to file a 1099 if you sold them $600 or more of gold, silver, coins, etc. in a calendar year. Not only would that be a HUGE bookkeeping and paperwork burden on businesses it would cause you untold headaches with the IRS. (If you could not provide paperwork documenting the purchase price of the items you sold you would probably have to pay income tax on the entire sale price.)

Hopefully in the future our representatives in Washington will read bills before they vote on them instead of following "logic": "We have to pass the bill so we can find out what is in it."

11. jallengomez