Question for collectors of both bullion and numismatic coins

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by 68KennedyHalf, Nov 9, 2018.

1. 68KennedyHalf

68KennedyHalf Junior Member

I'm new to stacking, but I've been a numismatic collector for several years. Stacking bullion is changing my perception of some of the lesser silver coins in my collection.

I have a date set of Barber and Standing Liberty quarters, which I keep in a Dansco generic "Quarters" album. Some of them are in are in F-VF, but most are in G-VG condition. I certainly never confused them for highly valuable coins.

But now that I've been reading about bullion stacking and getting accustomed to the terminology, etc., I feel like they should just be part of a "junk silver" stash, rather than being stored in an album.

So I've started a program of upgrading, with a goal of nothing less than VF. It's not going to be cheap, so I know there will be times when some of my stacking budget will be diverted to my Barbers and SLQs.

Has anyone else run into this dilemma? As a bullion stacker, have you found yourself re-evaluating some of the lesser coins in your numismatic collection?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. 68KennedyHalf

Yep, it's just me. Never mind. :sorry:

4. Jaelus

Jaelus The Hungarian Antiquarian Supporter

I did the same thing. Ended up just taking them out of the albums and storing them in tubes for Barbers and seated libs. I'm never going to complete the set so why bother. Standing libs, mercs, and walkers I keep in albums though. It's easier to find presentable examples for melt.

68KennedyHalf likes this.
  5. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

I also did the same thing. Even spent a lot of money trying to upgrade to VF-EF. Over time, I was still not happy and felt I could spend that same money on something better.