Pros and Cons of Local Coin Shop or Online Purchasing

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by Bman33, Jan 29, 2016.

1. Bman33

Bman33 Well-Known Member

This has been a topic on my mind lately. I would like to get input from members of this forum. I have never purchased online before and only purchased from LCS a few times. I am new to all this. I ran the numbers on my LCS purchases versus what I would have paid online. I would have paid $1.00 less per oz of silver by purchasing online. So it is a better deal financially, this is obvious. There are some hassles and long wait periods doing transactions online but you save a lot when you start stacking and that means more ounces in your stack. What are the benefits of purchasing from the LCS? Is it only so you can sell back to them?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Duke Kavanaugh

Duke Kavanaugh The Big Coin Hunter

Building a rapport with your LCS can get you not only better sell prices but preferential deals on other items they get in.
    My LCS shows me items that others won't get a chance to see. To some that may not matter (boring silver stackers) but if you like 70's art bars, hand poured silver, ect it can be excellent.
    I think in all of live building a network of friends helps and you do not get that online.
    You also loose the knowledge that they give (if it is a good store).
    And like any buy local thing it helps keep your town stronger in your own little way.

Alegandron, Cascade and Bman33 like this.
  4. Amos 811

Amos 811 DisMember

supporting locals, and actually seeing the coin in hand....no brainer.

5. Bman33

Bman33 Well-Known Member

I made made 5 transactions with my LCS guy. He told me on silver he sells $2.00 over spot and buys $2.00 under spot. I didn't make any purchases over $330. Should I just ask him if I can get a better deal if I make bigger purchases? Or be more subtle?

Good points.

6. Amos 811

Amos 811 DisMember