Post your Athenians!

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Seattlite86, Nov 23, 2019.

1. Seattlite86

Seattlite86 Outspoken Member

Hey Folks,

I've got a friend who is in the military and working extremely hard to pursue higher education. She's not a coin collector, but showed some interest in coins I've brought in from time to time. I'd like to get her a coin with Athena on it, since she's the goddess of both wisdom and war. Unfortunately, I have no idea where to begin. I figured a great start is to see what's all out there. Please post your Athenians (not for sale, just for show) so I can learn about them! References welcomed too.

Thank you,
    Brandon

Shea19 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. JulesUK

JulesUK Well-Known Member

Hi Brandon,
    I’m fairly new to collecting so I only have a examples.
    My latest purchase from a store on vcoins.com cost £11 or approx $14.
    Anyway, i love this as it has Zeus, her father, on the other side.
    Good luck.

6CCBB1E7-83E4-4418-9B48-10FD8025C02B.jpeg
    Autokane, Aeolis. 3rd century BC. AE 10mm, 0.7g
    OBV: Wreathed head of Zeus right
    REV: Helmeted head of Athena right, AYTOK bottom right field.

ominus1, Ryro, Curtisimo and 6 others like this.
  4. Sulla80

Sulla80 Well-Known Member

Brandon, here's a Bactrian coin you might like:
    Bactrian Menander.jpg
    BACTRIAN KINGDOM, Menander I Soter, (ca. 165/155-130 BC), Silver drachm

Obv: ΒΑΣΙΛΕΩΣ ΣΩΤΗΡοΣ ΜΕΝΑΝΔΡοΥ, diademed bust of Menander I left, seen from behind, one tie falling across right shoulder blade, wearing aegis on left shoulder and brandishing spear
    Rev: Helmeted Athena Alkidemos seen from behind, standing left, brandishing thunderbolt in right hand and holding shield covered with aegis (head of Gorgon in middle of goatskin) on left arm, wearing aegis (stole with central portion made from goatskin) over himation (mantle) above chiton (tunic), Kharosthi legend around, monogram in lower right field