Now That Is Stacking

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by Randy Abercrombie, May 26, 2019.

1. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter

Watching the Indy 500 today. A little factoid one of the announcers shared was the the winners trophy (Borg Warner Trophy) is fabricated of more than 100 POUNDS of silver.

Last edited: May 26, 2019
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

According to wikipedia, it weighs 153lbs and is made from sterling silver. That comes out to 2,063.8449 troy oz of pure silver. At today's value of $14.53/oz, the melt value for the trophy is $29,987.67.

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I had to look it up.. WOW! :wideyed:
    cc8ab1444137b45a3d10d36ac6059a14.jpg

5. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

How did the winner carry that home?

6. Randy Abercrombie

I bet he made room in his big rig!

7. Collecting Nut

I haven't watched a Indy race for almost 20 years. Just how big are those cars nowadays? :)

Randy Abercrombie likes this.
  8. Randy Abercrombie

I been addicted to open wheel racing since I cut my teeth in the late 60’s watching open wheel racers battle on the Oklahoma dirt tracks. A fellow named Jack Zink had several open wheel pilots on those tracks. But the really cool thing was Mr. Zink owned several cars that raced Indy in the 1950’s. Anyway, his driver & crew took on this youngster on as an honorary crew member. I been addicted ever since..... But the cars wheelbase is same as it has always been. With all the modern aerodynamics they look much larger because they are in effect a track bound airplane wing.

Harpo likes this.
  9. Collecting Nut