NGC Star Grade Holders

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by toned_morgan, Oct 13, 2018.

  1. toned_morgan

    toned_morgan Toning Lover

    When did NGC start assigning star grades for coins? I know the early holders didn't have that yet, but with which holder generation did they introduce star grades? Also, what are the "standards" for a coin to receive a star grade? Thanks for any help!
  2. Avatar

    Guest User Guest

    to hide this ad.
  3. Chris B

    Chris B Well-Known Member

    I don't know when they started doing it but this is from there website:

    "NGC assigns its trademarked Star Designation to coins with exceptional eye appeal for their assigned grade.

    Eye appeal is the most subjective attribute of a coin, but there are many standards shared by numismatists. Exceptional eye appeal may include attributes such as vibrant, colorful toning; intense luster; or, in the case of Proof coins, especially strong cameo contrast. To receive a star, coins must be free of any obvious planchet irregularities, and display no bothersome spots or blemishes. Toned coins can be of a single color or multicolored but cannot have any areas that are dark brown, approaching black.

    It's important to remember that coins with the Star () Designation can fall anywhere within the grades to which they are assigned. For example, a coin graded NGC MS 64 could be at the lower end, mid-range or higher end of NGC MS 64.

    NGC applies the star to qualifying coins in its normal course of grading. As they are already of the ultimate grade, any coin graded NGC MS 70 or NGC PF 70 will not be eligible for the star. Coins already certified by NGC can be resubmitted and reviewed for using the Designation Review service."
  4. ddddd

    ddddd Member

Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page