Newbie here, looking for guidance buying bullion as investment

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by Seamus3158, Jul 10, 2009.

1. Seamus3158

Seamus3158 Junior Member

Good day all, I new to the site (which looks great) and to bullion investing. To keep it simple, I have no time or interest in collecting or in a new hobby, maybe when I retire. At this time, I'm just looking to hedge my bets with some real assets. I've been hammered like everyone else in stocks, 401Ks, real estate, etc. and thought this might be a good time to invest in some bullion. I know a few things about this like: buy at as close to spot as possible; if buying coins, which I doubt I'll do, buy known coins at just above spot like AE's, Maples, and Kugerands. I also like the idea of holding something of value in my hands so bullion seems to be the best option. Maybe all the recent infomercials got my interest, but with all the hype I know there will be sharks in the water looking for virgin meat, so I would greatly appreciate any guideance on who I should be looking to buy from and who to stay away from and thingelse you good people are willing to share. Thanks

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Mapleleaf

Mapleleaf Junior Member

It seems to me that bullion should be treated like all other investments. Bullion can go up and down so consider dollar cost averaging into it slowly.

I have heard some say bullion is not a real investment rather, a harbor for your money. For example, some argue that 1 silver eagle would buy the same amount of a product such as "gasoline or milk" regardless of inflation. I am sure someone else can speak more intelligently on this matter than myself.

By the way, I enjoy Mapleleaves which is no surprise. I know you said you don't need another hobby but it is fun to combine my two goals, bullion/collecting.

4. TheNoost

TheNoost huldufolk