New here (America Silver eagles collector)

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by bgkentucky123, Jun 9, 2016.

1. bgkentucky123

bgkentucky123 Member

hey yall, Im from Kentucky and just made a post under introductions. I am new to the hobby and my uncle tells me to buy buy buy silver. He has a bunch. So I bought 10 American silver eagles today at A+ coinstore. Paid $210 for 10 of them. The guy said if I walked in the next day and wanted to sell them that I could get $17.50 for each. Not bad. Hoping that prices will stay low for about a year or so so I can collect. Then hoping that prices will rise. What do you all think? Good investment or are coins better? I don't know much about coins but have read up on silver. btw I have between $200-400 extra income a month that I plan on using for American silver eagles. thanks

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. green18

green18 Unknown member Sweet on Commemorative Coins Supporter

Ya wanna be a stacker or a collector.? The endeavors are mutually exclusive.

4. bgkentucky123

bgkentucky123 Member

I want to collect silver. and maybe one day when I have enough money collect coins. what is the best investment?

Cascade likes this.
  5. Lon Chaney

Lon Chaney Well-Known Member

Uh oh, you said the I-word. You'll get some bites there.

I don't think the two are mutually exclusive. I'm mainly a collector but stacking silver is fun too. And junk silver falls into both realms I feel.

SilverMike and longnine009 like this.
  6. DUNK 2

DUNK 2 Well-Known Member

Using precious metals and/or coins as an investment is a slippery slope, IMHO of course.

Over the long term (I assume you're relatively young), there are much better places to park your money.

Collect and have fun. But don't expect to get rich.

fish4uinmd and spirityoda like this.
  7. green18

green18 Unknown member Sweet on Commemorative Coins Supporter