Millions of dollars in World War II silver recovered from deep ocean

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by galapac, Apr 16, 2015.

1. galapac

galapac Seeking Knowledge

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. galapac

I can't believe the British government kept this under wraps until now...according to the article the British government got their hoard back in 2013 and melted all of the silver...100 tons of it...I would of thought that the coins would be worth a lot more than the price of silver considering the historical precedence.

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Interesting Story! I love finds like these. Here is an example of a 1 Rupee that was found
    1 Rupee.JPG

5. Dougmeister

Dougmeister Well-Known Member

6. Ed23

Ed23 Active Member

Typical government act of doofus bureaucrats who know nothing about coins, (like those advocating melting "illegal" 1933 Double Eagles), think just melt them down, rather than sell them to those in the collector/investor realm for much more.

7. silverbullion

silverbullion Active Member

Perhaps there was a silver shortage after all.

8. Del Pinto

Del Pinto Active Member

This story stinks, or it doesn't. http://deepoceansearch.com/City_Of_Cairo.htm

The suggestion that government bureaucrats 'know nothing' of numismatic value in salvage is ridiculous. I also wouldn't presume that ALL the coins were simply melted on orders of the British Government, without any examination.

There may be more here than meets the eye, but I doubt it. Suppose any corroded alloy coin would be smelted as scrap. It wasn't worth the time to 'coin roll hunt' any rarities? That's likely correct.

I imagine the market for cleaned, common date Silver Rupees is not worth the effort. Bullion, it was.

[​IMG]