How Would you Spend $1000 on Silver?

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by logantrky, Apr 16, 2016.

1. logantrky

logantrky Member

I am relatively new to stacking. I usually buy an ASE each week to throw in the safe.

After talking to my father today, he expressed interest in buying some silver.

I was trying to convince him to buy ASEs, but he can't get over the $3-$4 premium he would have to pay over spot. So, I suggested he do some research on rounds and bars to see if this would be a better fit for him.

If you had $1000 to spend on silver, what would you purchase given this situation? Would there be liquidity issues if he purchased generic rounds and bars?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. -jeffB

-jeffB Greshams LEO Supporter

I hold out for opportunities to buy below spot, mostly on eBay BIN listings.

This produces the opposite sort of "liquidity issue", though; such opportunities are few and far between, so if I wanted to put a lot of money into silver right now, I couldn't use this strategy.

I'm a big believer in junk 90% -- lower premium, generally a lower buy/sell spread from what I've seen, and optimal liquidity.

Gilbert and logantrky like this.
  4. Endeavor

Endeavor Well-Known Member

I wouldn't buy bullion silver. I would buy numismatic silver. That's my preference.

Evan8, logantrky and Jerry Curtis like this.
  5. KoinJester

KoinJester Well-Known Member

6. desertgem

desertgem Senior Errer Collecktor

I would ask 3 questions (1) Is the money to be used completely disposable ( wouldn't suffer if lost completely), (2) Do you have security to safely and anonymously store it, ( 3) Is there any time frame, or just hold for the "big one" or pass on to relatives on death. There is always the other one ( WHY?), but that is too varied as to agreement, it is useless usually.