Help! Is this counterfeit?

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by hello81, Apr 27, 2015.

1. hello81

hello81 New Member

Hi. I'm new here. I recently bought a Scottsdale Omnia Round on ebay. It came in today and I noticed something odd. I see these imprints in the background from the graphic on the other side. It's hard to explain. I did the ice test, but from what I understand, that really doesn't say too much. Hopefully I posted these pictures correctly. Thanks for any help that is given. 20150427_160558.jpeg

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. PeacePeople

PeacePeople Wall St and stocks, where it's at

What does it weigh and do you have a calipers to get the dimensions?

4. hello81

hello81 New Member

I haven't checked the weight or anything. I just started buying silver, and I'm a complete amateur. I did buy a case for it, and it kinda doesn't fit right. I definitely bought the right size, though. Did you notice the odd background imprints?

5. PeacePeople

Yes. I will check mine out later and let you know if they have the same thing. You really do need to weigh it, that is the start point.

6. Treashunt

Treashunt The Other Frank

Just a clashed die

Rick Stachowski likes this.
  7. hello81

hello81 New Member

I would. But, I don't have a scale.

8. hello81

hello81 New Member

It seems like the case won't close because the rim of the coin is kinda raised. Is it possible that I just got a weird one. The seller that I bought it from, has 100% feedback, and it came in the mint packaging.

9. doug5353

doug5353 Well-Known Member

Welcome. When you buy something weird (for bullion), do you ever consider how difficult it might be to sell at the other end? Did you pay more (not asking how much you paid) than an ASE costs?

10. hello81

hello81 New Member