Got my first gold coin!

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by some-willie.willieWANT, Feb 1, 2020.

1. some-willie.willieWANT

some-willie.willieWANT Active Member

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. ToughCOINS

ToughCOINS Dealer Member Moderator

I used to own some of these, and yours doesn't exactly remind me of them. Are you positive it is genuine? If so, why?

4. some-willie.willieWANT

I have no experience with gold fractionals, enlighten me on them? How can we make sure it's genuine? I shelled out quite a few bucks..

5. ToughCOINS

ToughCOINS Dealer Member Moderator

If I recall correctly, these were very well made coins, with nicely struck, frosted devices on deeply mirrored fields, producing very strong cameo contrast. Your coin does not remind me of those I've seen. Even if one had been mishandled or circulated, I'd expect it to look different than yours does.

Since you may not trust my eyes, and I can't blame you for that, you should check the gold content of the coin.

To check, first I'd weigh it on an accurate scale, and compare the weight against the specifications for the coin.

If the weight is within tolerance, I'd probably file it lightly in an inconspicuous location to make sure it is not gold-plated tungsten.

If it is gold, I still don't think it's real, but you should then take it to a coin dealer familiar with the China Pandas for an in-hand examination.

Good luck.

6. FryDaddyJr

FryDaddyJr Junior Member

Many coin dealers have devices that can measure and weigh a coin by inputing the designation and placing it on the scale

GoldFinger1969 likes this.
  7. -jeffB

-jeffB Greshams LEO Supporter

I don't have a great deal of faith in those machines, but I'm guessing they'd catch most non-gold fakes of coins like the OP's.

8. -jeffB

-jeffB Greshams LEO Supporter