Gold and silver jewelry (and sterling silver)

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by Doc J, Aug 13, 2011.

1. Doc J

Doc J Mr. Brightside

What is it worth?

Background: My wife and I went to a party with her family. They told her that they are selling their gold and silver jewelry (and silver flat-ware). I said nothing! I've been buying gold and silver for the last ~15 years. I think it is good as long as Ben B. and Tim G. are around.

Today: My wife gathered up a box full of 20 carat, 18 carat gold, and silver jewelry (and flat ware of sterling silver). She wants to join the crowd. This is stuff that she received as gifts (not from me) or inherited. I told her that I would buy it. I'll write her a check, and she can deposit it back in our checking account. :D She didn't go for that.

So, as it relates to gold and silver bullion, what is 18 carat gold and sterling silver worth? I can't melt it down to the pure form. This is just stuff on my computer hard-drive:
    So, sterling silver is worth at something less than 90% of the spot silver price? How much less?

And 18K gold jewelry is worth something less than 75% of the spot price of gold? How much less?

Thanks,
    Doc

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Cloudsweeper99

Cloudsweeper99 Treasure Hunter

I would say let your wife sell it for a few of reasons. First, she may be right and you [and] others may be wrong. This might turn out to be an excellent time to sell. Second, that sort of low quality junk metal really can't be considered an investment. Third, it isn't worth starting an argument over.

4. Doc J

Doc J Mr. Brightside

OK, you are calling a market top? That is very brave.

Go figure. I thought 20 carat gold and sterling silver was worth something. I'll tell her to throw it in the garbage.

Who said that I was arguing with my wife? I've never done that in 30 years of marriage.

5. bigjpst

bigjpst Well-Known Member

6. lucyray

lucyray Ariel -n- Tango