Fake 1oz Perth Mint?

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by Seattlite86, Jul 12, 2021.

1. Seattlite86

Seattlite86 Outspoken Member

I've got my suspicions of this online listing for a 1oz bar. Would anyone care to weigh in that knows these well? My concerns are the off color and inelegant swan head that seems to touch its body when it shouldn't. I appreciate your input.

Screenshot_20210712-051317_Facebook.jpg Screenshot_20210712-051306_Facebook.jpg

john65999, capthank and Chris Winkler like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. *coins

*coins Well-Known Member

The fact that the serial number isn't very straight bothers me. I am not an expert on these though and that's the only thing that stood out to me.

capthank, Hiwatt and Seattlite86 like this.
  4. Mr.Q

Mr.Q Well-Known Member

Contact the Perth Mint and check the serial number against their records. Good luck

rte, capthank and Chris Winkler like this.
  5. Mountain Man

Mountain Man Well-Known Member

Shouldn't the serial number appear on the bar itself? I don't purchase bullion, so have no clue.

6. Hiwatt

Hiwatt Coffee break

7. Hiwatt

Hiwatt Coffee break

fretboard likes this.
  8. capthank

capthank Well-Known Member

Yes do that and let us know. Thanks

9. 1865King

1865King Well-Known Member

This is why I don't like bars. Silver or Gold. I have a friend asked me to look at a number of silver bars his brother in law had. Out the 5 bars one was an obvious fake and one was a very good fake. Coins can be counterfeited just as easily but, coins do tend to get looked at more carefully than bars. Packaging is extremely easy to fake.

10. capthank

capthank Well-Known Member

Buyer beware!

11. fretboard

fretboard Defender of Old Coinage!

That 7 in the serial number is scary enough and the packaging itself sucks! :D Personally, I would never buy a gold bar over 5 or 10 grams, and as far as Perth Mint goes, I just wouldn't! :cigar:

12. FryDaddyJr

FryDaddyJr Junior Member