Does soap and water constitute "cleaned?"

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by Jason.A, Jun 16, 2017.

1. Jason.A

Jason.A Active Member

Say in regards to circulated currency, like silver American and Canadian money.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

4. goldcollector

goldcollector Member

I think technically yes its going to damage or remove the platina

tmoneyeagles likes this.
  5. mpcusa

mpcusa "Official C.T. TROLL SWEEPER"

Coming from a currency collecting back round, i would say no, a gentle "non chemical cleaning" is fine as long as your not trying to increase the value or
    Represent the bill being cleaned in a better light, my two cents :)

6. Jason.A

Jason.A Active Member

Does soap + water + hands (no cloth or brush) constitute cleaning?
    And does this jeopardize value or collectibility of bullion-level circulated silver currency?

7. mikenoodle

mikenoodle The Village Idiot Supporter

can you tell afterwards that it's been done?

Stevearino, Insider and -jeffB like this.
  8. -jeffB

-jeffB Greshams LEO Supporter

It's not "cleaning" per se that damages a coin, but improper cleaning.

If you clean a coin by rubbing it, you'll likely leave scuffs or scratches. Damage.

If you clean a coin by over-dipping it in an acid, you'll remove some of the surface metal, muting or destroying the coin's luster. Damage.

If you rub with soapy water and fingers, any grit that's on your fingers or the coin can cause scratches. Damage.

If you rinse with soapy water, but the soap contains fragrances or other additives that react chemically with the coin, it can leave the coin with altered color or appearance. Damage.