Did Franklin Roosevelt confiscate silver as well as gold?

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by Gam3rBlake, Jul 10, 2021.

1. Gam3rBlake

Gam3rBlake Well-Known Member

In 1933 Franklin Roosevelt issued Executive Order 6102 which forced Americans to hand over their gold to the government in an attempt to prevent hoarding and stimulate the economy during the Great Depression.

But did this apply to silver as well?

Has the government ever confiscated silver?

yakpoo likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Let me Google it..

This is the answer I found

Executive Order 6814 Required Turning in of Silver Bullion to the U.S. Government.
    Silver U.S. and Foreign Coins Were Exempt From the Order.
    Nearly 123 million ounces of silver were turned into the U.S. Mint from 1934-1938
    The U.S. Needed Silver To Mint Coins

Executive Order 6814 is not a fictional future act of government, like the passing of the 211th, 212th and 213th Amendments to the Constitution, but an actual Presidential Order by Franklin Delano Roosevelt in 1934 confiscating silver in the United States.

The order dated August 9, 1934, was entitled Executive Order 6814 Requiring the Delivery of All Silver to the United States for Coinage and required all persons to deliver silver to the U.S government pursuant to the Silver Purchase Act of 1934, subject to certain exemptions.

Last edited: Jul 10, 2021
    Chris Winkler, GH#75, yakpoo and 3 others like this.
  4. Robert Ransom

Robert Ransom Well-Known Member

Imagine that. You Googled it. Who would have thought to do that? ;)

atcarroll and midas1 like this.
  5. Gam3rBlake

You realize that same thing could be said to every question asked on this forum and there would be no point in having a forum?