Coin storage in a fire proof safe

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Sallent, Nov 8, 2015.

1. Sallent

Sallent Live long and prosper

I have a sentry fire proof safe with .80 cubic feet space, which is the only safe I have at the moment. I know fire safes produce moisture, but I've put two packs of silica desiccants which are good for 3 cubic feet each (excessive but better be safe than sorry). Would that be a safe way to get around the moisture issue until I can get a better safe? Do you think it would be safe to keep coins there with those precautions, or should I remove them immediately?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. jwitten

jwitten Well-Known Member

How do they produce moisture?

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Remove them. I think there was a thread concerning this issue sometime this year. Members coins were all ruined! I will try to find the thread.

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Last edited: Nov 8, 2015
  6. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

They actually retain moisture in the walls as part of the fire protection. Air out the safe every few days and you will be fine for short term storage.
    Edit to add. I'm wrong. Remove the coins.

Last edited: Nov 8, 2015
  7. coinman1234

coinman1234 Not a Well-Known Member

paddyman98 likes this.
  8. Sallent

Sallent Live long and prosper

Oh wow. Glad I asked. Coins were in there for less than 24 hours with the desiccant packs. Hopefully no real damage was done.

paddyman98 likes this.
  9. Jaelus

Jaelus The Hungarian Antiquarian Supporter

Are all fire proof safes out of the question for collectible coin storage, or is this problem unique to Sentry safes?

10. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member