Buying ASE and AGE - Mint or dealer?

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by jeff_75, Jul 17, 2007.

1. jeff_75

jeff_75 Member

I have looked around a little and can't seem to find an answer to this very basic question, but I'm sure it's been addressed before. If someone could please advise me, or just point me to the correct thread please. I'm very new to collecting/investing.

I'd like to start buying American Eagles, primarily as a bullion investment, but it's obvious that certain years seem to shoot up in value to collectors as well. So while I'm mainly interested in bullion value, I want to make sure I'm maximizing my value to collectors as well.

So my basic question is this: should I be buying these coins NGC certified from dealers, or should I be buying them from the Mint? Pros/cons of each?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. hamman88

hamman88 Spare some change, sir?

Years are not going to randomly shoot up in price. And if you buy certified for bullion coins you could never make what it cost to slab them. If I was you buy them raw by themselves or in whole rolls.

4. jeff_75

jeff_75 Member

Why is the 1995W so expensive?

Would it be more valuable to a collector in the mint packaging or in NGC packaging?

5. hamman88

hamman88 Spare some change, sir?

1995w is rare becuase of a low mintage.

6. Leadfoot

Leadfoot there is no spoon

There are much better ways to invest in silver than SAEs -- old silver coins are available at a much lower premium, as are silver ETFs.

That said, if you are going to purchase SAEs, I strongly suggest you purchase them from wherever you can get them at the lowest premium and buy them raw -- probably from a dealer or wholesaler that sells to the public -- like apmex.

That said, in general, coins should not be viewed as an investment -- there are far better ways to invest your money that have lower margins and transaction costs.

Good luck...Mike

7. Cloudsweeper99

Cloudsweeper99 Treasure Hunter