Bullion vs collector pricing

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by sea2seerver, Mar 1, 2004.

1. sea2seerver

sea2seerver New Member

I am really new to this and have asked a number of other questions regarding storage...and found several posts that were extensive and helpful. I am looking to put my collectibles (St Gaudens, etc) in air tites but am not sure about maple leafs or krugerands. Are ML's and K's considered 'bullion' coins (investments) and are priced by 'spot'. Or do they become collectibles and more valuable as individual coins (so buyers would be interested in seeing the individual coin) by MS and year pricing? My problem is...do I put the really valuable coins in air tites and the Ml's and Ks in bulk storage containers. Does their appearance do anything for the value of the coin?

If this sounds confusiing...it is. Hopefully someone can make obverse or reverse of all this!

Austin

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. jody526

jody526 New Member

Maple Leafs and Kruegerands usually sell for a little over spot, so I would consider them as bullion.

4. National dealer

National dealer New Member

One question. Are you sure these are St. Gaudens and not Gold Eagles?

5. tradernick

tradernick Coin Hoarder

Typically krugerrands and maples and eagles, etc sell for a bit over the spot price. Will they be worth more if you properly preserve them? Well...their value won't increase per se, but if they're damaged, spotted, used in jewelry, cleaned/polished, or carried in your pocket their value will certainly decrease. The well preserved ones still have more eye appeal and will sell long before a used or ugly one will. Damage like I mentioned above can sometimes result in a lower price, and the coin being sent with the next batch of scrap, rather than being put in the case for resale.