bullion investing questions???

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by yahnke, Dec 12, 2010.

1. yahnke

yahnke New Member

since silver is going through the roof and im new to this please explain why the preferance for ase coin instead of bars???

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. yahnke

yahnke New Member

Also another question are all coins weight in troy oz's ???

4. 9guns

9guns Junior Member

if your new to stacking i would opt for the cheapest silver you can find to quickly build a position.

5. desertgem

desertgem Senior Errer Collecktor

I have been trying to remember if any silver or gold patterns expressed weight in ounces in the US and I can't remember any, and a little lazy tonight to go through the pattern books. Some regular issue coins such as trade dollars used grains on the coin, but no ounces to my knowledge.
    U.S. Coins are usually measured in grams and/or grains. In the case of silver coins, one can get the weight in grams, multiply by % of silver, and divide by 31.10 to get the pure silver troy ounce weight of the silver portion. Bullion usually states the weight as troy ounce pure silver or gold, beware of ebay who use confusion on the two ounces on rounds or bars to their advantage.

numbers rounded to 2 places

troy ounce = 31.10 grams
    avoirdupois ounce = 28.35 grams
    15. 43 grains= 1 gram

In my opinion, only buy silver that is easily marketable. ASE,Canada Maple leaf, stock shares of SLV and others, highly respected bars such as Englehard, J-M, etc. all can quickly be sold when the market turns, AS it Will someday, IMO.

6. FishyOne

FishyOne Member

Precious metals have always been weighed by troy ounces. Whenever you see see a weight for precious metal listed in ounces, it should be troy ounces which are 31.1 grams each as desertgem noted. Troy ounces come from the old imperial system (British) of measurement.