BU 2017 P Shield 1 cent ERROR

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by usmc60, Mar 22, 2017.

1. usmc60

usmc60 SEMPER FI

Just picked up a box of the new BU shielded cents. Nothing unusual to start off with take a look for yourself. USMC60 ct3-22-1c-1.jpg

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. usmc60

usmc60 SEMPER FI

I would like to add this addition to these photos. I have found these particular cracks on quite a few of the ones that I've examined. All are in the same location but a few very in the amount of fractures.:rolleyes::blackalien: ct3-22-1c-10.jpg ct3-22-1c-11.jpg

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Thumbnail #2 #3 and #4 show Die Deterioration

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I believe those are Die Scratches not Cracks

6. usmc60

usmc60 SEMPER FI

At first I thought so too. But then after examining several more and one thing the photo does not show they are slightly raised even though they are small as though a scrat would penetrate the surface of the planchet. Unless Tom at the mint got a hold of the die and put the wire brush to it as you see in a lot of one cent coins.And the ones I have found are all located in the same spot. I'll post a couple of more pics. All I'm saying to the members that are going to be looking through some of the new coins for 2017 expect to find this whatever it may be on some of the coins you'll be looking at.Really don't have the time to get in the box right now to examine more.:blackalien:

7. usmc60

usmc60 SEMPER FI

Agreed :blackalien:

8. rickmp

rickmp Frequently flatulent.

A scratch would create a depression in the die and a corresponding raised spot on the coin.

9. usmc60

usmc60 SEMPER FI