better?

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by Crobattt, Apr 12, 2011.

1. Crobattt

Crobattt PEACE BRO xD

my mom said it would be ok if i were to get 500$ dollars out of my bank. Which would be the best precious metal to invest in? im new to bullion, i only have 10 oz of silver :/

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. dan8802

dan8802 New Member

The answer to your quesiton is different for many different people. You need to evaluate what your goals are. do you want to: Make a profit bearing investment? Protect your wealth as you invest through life? Have a hedge against inflation? Have something to barter with if the need arises?
    No one knows what each metal is going to do.

However, Many people believe silver has the best potential upside. Especially due to the low price of silver in terms of the historical gold/silver ratio. If you can't handle as much risk and fluctuation, then gold may be better.

4. Mark14

Mark14 Star Wide Receiver

silver or copper, with my money im probably going to buy some copper lakota rounds,

5. jcakcoin

jcakcoin New Member

For bullion or just normal coin collecting?

I would buy junk silver, and make a collection (quarters, halves, dimes, etc). Get it for melt and use the money on that. Would have two purposes, one being bullion, and the other for a collection

6. Crobattt

Crobattt PEACE BRO xD

Bullion, i want to save it for several years, just to have a security in my money

7. Copper Head

Copper Head Active Member

Just starting and with $500 I would say silver. Buying a few American Eagles and some pre-1965 American coins will give you a nice collection to start with and the feel of different grades, weights and some variety.

8. KoinJester

KoinJester Well-Known Member

Really at $.027 an adv oz from what I see on fleabay It would have to reach about $16+ a pound to break even much less make any money.

9. bigjohn56

bigjohn56 Member