Best price for scrap gold??

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by stairstars, Jun 22, 2020.

1. stairstars

stairstars Well-Known Member

Hello,

How does one get the most for 14K gold without falling victim to the online hawks?

In particular, I have a 5.5 ounce gold medal where the spot gold price exceeds the value as a collectible. Is it possible to have it melted and purified to make it into a pure gold ingot? It should yield 3 ounces. What are the costs of that and assay? Or can one get close to spot somewhere?

Thanks.

rick

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. toned_morgan

toned_morgan Toning Lover

Hmm I'm no expert in spot prices and all that stuff, so you might want to do research on prices for melting. Maybe try finding your local metal melting facility or something like that and they might be able to tell you their fee for melting. You could also sell the medal at spot price. It makes no sense that the spot price is BELOW the value of the collectible. It's like if you sold a one ounce silver mint coin for less than the price of an ounce of silver. If I were you, I would just sell it at spot price or a bit above.

stairstars likes this.
  4. fretboard

fretboard Defender of Old Coinage!

Hang onto it and sit back until the price of gold goes up! It doesn't make sense to spend money on it, JMHO.

stairstars likes this.
  5. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

I've been collecting medals for 25 years or more. In silver medals alone, I have about 500 ounces. The spot price of silver has always been below the collectible value. It's the same for silver medals as it would be for most uncirculated silver coins. Would you expect to pay $15.00 or less for a 1904 Morgan dollar? If so, let me know the name of the dealer you use. I'll gladly buy every Morgan he has in stock.
    ~ Chris

stairstars likes this.
  6. Nolan Workman

Nolan Workman Well-Known Member