70 grade 2017 Gold American Eagles Question

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by Tommy83, Jan 19, 2017.

1. Tommy83

Tommy83 New Member

I bought some new 2017 gold American Eagles. They arrived the other day and I am pleased.

Today, I bought a 2017 PCGS MS 70 gold American Eagle for an attractive price over spot. I’ve never bought graded coins for numismatic purposes, but I found myself buying one today (good price). I’m new to buying graded coins so excuse me if my question sounds elementary, but…

The new ’17 eagles that arrived early this week have very minor imperfections and probably would not grade at 70 (though I am no expert). That is fine. Maybe just a small sample size on the ones I received. I’m curious if these ‘17s are reviewed before shipped to customers that ordered them pre-sale. It just seems odd to me that there are already 70 graded gold eagles out there for sale. Does the mint and/or any of the brokers look at these coins before shipping them – coins with very minor imperfections sent to pre-sale buyers without grading and the best looking coins are graded by PGGS so that they can sell them for more should they grade at 70?

I’m just curious as I’m a little surprised to see 70 grade coins available for sale only a couple days after the gold eagles were shipped out.

GoldFinger1969 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

It's my guess that many of the big dealers, including the TV shows, will advertise 70's for sale weeks in advance of even getting them from the grading services. They are hedging their bets that the law of averages will produce a certain number of 70's in every large submission.

Chris

4. Garlicus

Garlicus Debt is dumb, cash is king.

When buying graded Silver and Gold Eagles, be aware that for the most part, they are just bullion and the added cost of purchasing a graded coin may not be worth it.