3 different 1968 no S dime

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Pippypowerful, Jul 28, 2016.

1. Pippypowerful

Pippypowerful New Member

I'm sure 99.9% on here have more knowledge than me about this coin, my profession is in Dentistry. I have 3 dimes in pictures,which are all 1968 no S . 2 are most similar and one stands alone.
    The one looks and feels smaller, rim is very pronounced, lettering very easy to read and the number 8 is not flattened compared to. The size and angle of roosevelt is different, detail can be seen easily and the shine or coating is different. Any knowledge to share is appericated. Thank you.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna

I assume you realize they're Philly coins, so the lack of an S holds no significance whatsoever? Beyond this, I am unfortunately unable to see the coins well enough to comment, one way or the other. Perhaps you could post clearer photos and/or point out exactly what your concerns are?

4. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

@Pippypowerful

"Shine" is a term that collectors do not use. You must be thinking of the mirror finish of a proof coin, and that maybe one of these is the "No S" variety from a proof set. Sorry, but none are.

Chris

Pippypowerful likes this.
  5. John77

John77 Well-Known Member

Those are just regular 1968 Philadelphia mint coins. Were you looking for the 1968-S (no S) proof coins? Those aren't going to turn up in circulation as they were only made for proof sets. Those coins would show a very reflective surface.

6. green18

green18 Unknown member Sweet on Commemorative Coins Supporter

Business strikes. What you need is something like this.....

DSC_2310.JPG

As opposed to this.........

DSC_2306.JPG

Notice the difference OP?

7. Pippypowerful

Pippypowerful New Member