2000 Quarter-rounded edge no ribbing

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by dogstar99, Jun 26, 2019.

1. dogstar99

dogstar99 Active Member

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jun 26, 2019
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Wanderingbark116

Wanderingbark116 Active Member

Dryer quarter most likely but definitely damaged. The reeding along with some of the design on the edge was worn off. You can still see the copper/ clad composition on the edge. Sorry!

4. dogstar99

dogstar99 Active Member

https://www.coincommunity.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=143863
    Not really like a dryer coin at all. Check this site.

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

It is called reeding. It's just a damaged quarter. Not a Mint Error.

6. dogstar99

dogstar99 Active Member

I was a machinist. I could of called it a knurl. LOL

Kentucky likes this.
  7. dogstar99

dogstar99 Active Member

The diameter is only .007 smaller then that of a normal quarter. How do you completely remove the REEDING with only .0035 per side. The edge markings go obverse to reverse not circular.

8. Wanderingbark116

Wanderingbark116 Active Member

Depth of reeding is very very minute and the damage likely pressed the metal out and increased its size a bit

9. dogstar99

dogstar99 Active Member

The only way I know of to increase diameter on a round object is to knurl, weld or metal spray. You could also flatten the center to grow the diameter. but none of these things seem to have been done here. I appreciate your comments. Thanks for checking it out.

10. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

It's still damage.

11. dogstar99

dogstar99 Active Member

You win.

paddyman98 likes this.
  12. Tlberg

Tlberg Well-Known Member

Looks like it Screenshot_2019-06-27-09-10-51-1.png had a reeded edge - damage/altered

13. Fred Weinberg

Fred Weinberg Well-Known Member

Damaged on all three sides

Kentucky likes this.