1921-S Morgan and 1926-S Peace dollar

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by Norman Asis, Dec 27, 2017.

1. Norman Asis

Norman Asis Active Member

Good evening! I happen to pass by a pawnshop this morning and saw these two silver dollars, 1921-S Morgan and 1926-S Peace dollar coins. They were selling it for $25 a piece. Was able to get a vet discount and paid $40 for both.
    Looking at the condition of the coins, did I overpay?
    If the coins met the expected weight and pass the magnet test, are there additional ways to tell authenticity of Silver dollars? Thank you! IMG_20171226_194519971.jpg IMG_20171226_194601030.jpg IMG_20171226_194632471.jpg IMG_20171226_194701987.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

$25.00 each would of been too much. $20.00 each is a much better deal!

Have you tried the tissue test? ;)
    x.JPG silver-clad-tissue-test.jpg

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

5. Norman Asis

Mr paddyman98! Thanks for that info. I have to wait till the morning to test it though. No facial tissue at hand.
    I need to do a better job with taking photos. The 1921 Morgan, does it look like a cleaned coin? If you were to grade both coins, what grade would you assign for each one?

paddyman98 likes this.
  6. Phil Ham

Phil Ham Hamster

You did well at $40 for both.

7. Norman Asis

Thank you Phil!

8. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

Both the coins have been cleaned, grades aren't a factor, unless a key date. You did well for 20 each.

9. Blissskr

Blissskr Well-Known Member