1/65 silver/gold?

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by pale ridder, Mar 5, 2010.

1. pale ridder

pale ridder Junior Member

Should i be for (long term investmesnt ) be buying 1oz gold for every 65oz of silver? I feel silver has more room to move,and right now i am 2000/1 in favor of silver,help please??

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. HumptyDumpty

HumptyDumpty Junior Member

Hi Ridder,

Well, I have the same conundrum as you. I'm still relatively new to the PM market, but here's MY personal take on it and what works for me.

For me, silver is the way to go. I'm a student, have a limited income and based on how much gold slided today compared to silver, I would much rather take my punches 6 cents a day while trying to flog my silver verses $7.10 a day for gold. Now I know its not going to be the same amounts each day, but it seems pretty stable from what I've read.

But now on the other side (non broke student), as you pointed out in your equation, it takes 65/66 ounces of silver to match 1 ounce of gold. This makes gold an easier way to store an investment in the long run, whether you keep it buried in the ground or a safety deposit box in a bank.

I know I didn't exactly answer your question, but gave some of my ever changing opinions that grow as I read more.

I'd love to give credit to one member here on CT, but I simply can't remember his handle, I sure do like what he said though (and I'm gunning for the same myself); "2500 ounces of silver and 40 ounces of gold".

I just did the math 2500/62, sounds about the same as what you said.

Best of luck.

4. Cloudsweeper99

Cloudsweeper99 Treasure Hunter