Zimbabwe notes through the roof?

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by wcoins, Feb 8, 2018.

1. wcoins

wcoins GEM-ber

I saw a guy on the youtubes a few years ago saying Zimbabwe currency was a good investment. I thought he was crazy or he was joking.

But look at the 100 trillion note.

Few years ago they were going for $10-$20 each. Now they are nearing $100 each?

Is it just that cause it's the largest denomination note ever and is in high demand or all notes from that country went up?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. medoraman

medoraman Well-Known Member

Because it was the last of the hyper inflation notes. Those notes are populare due to number of zeros and the fact they are in "dollars". Everyone expected a quadrillion note to be printed when Zimbabwe switched to USD. The value of the 100 trillion note is not its monetary value, but as a curiousity.

onecenter and paddyman98 like this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

5. V. Kurt Bellman

V. Kurt Bellman Yes, I'm blunt! Get over your "feeeeelings".

I have a pretty extensive set from the very high ones, down to the "normal" sounding denominations.

6. jfscmedic

jfscmedic Well-Known Member

The only one I know of that brings a big premium is the 100 Trillion Dollar Note. The rest can be found for just a few dollars

7. V. Kurt Bellman

I took one of those over to the Finance Committee staff, offering to "handle the state budget", if I could get change in U.S. dollars. They didn't bite.

Think of it - 100 trillion - one single note. In name, that's more U.S. dollars than have EVER EXISTED IN HISTORY, including EVERYONE'S. And people think that'll happen here. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: Morons, I tell ya', morons!

George McClellan and jfscmedic like this.
  8. Gilbert

Gilbert Part time collector Supporter

Amazing! I guess the joke gifts to my kids turned out to be not-so-funny.

9. V. Kurt Bellman