your opinion on two ancient coins

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by smolsketchkid, Jan 20, 2018.

1. smolsketchkid

smolsketchkid Member

Hi! I recently got two copper ancient coins from a coin show recently. I believe one is an as of caligula and the other is a 40 nummi of justinian. What are your thoughts about the coins. I am curious to know more about ancient copper coins. thank you! IMG_0064.JPG IMG_8596.JPG IMG_5293.JPG IMG_0201.JPG

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. IdesOfMarch01

IdesOfMarch01 Well-Known Member

I agree that your bottom coin is a Caligula as of this type:

4a - Caligula AE as.jpg

GAIUS (CALIGULA)
    AE As (11.31 g.) Rome 37 - 38 A.D. RIC 38
    C CAESAR AVG GERMANICVS PON M TR POT Bare head of Caligula left.
    Rev. VESTA S C Vesta enthroned left.

I think your coin would benefit from further cleaning (a topic about which I have no direct knowledge) and would encourage you to search the many very good threads on this site about how to clean bronze coins.

Last edited: Jan 20, 2018
  4. Gavin Richardson

Gavin Richardson Well-Known Member

CALIGULA AS VESTA 1.jpg I'm not sure what you mean by "thoughts." Collectability? Authenticity? Information about rulers?

My initial thoughts are that these coins are authentic, but are not particularly attractive versions of their type.

However, every coin tells a story. Regardless of aesthetics, for example, it's very cool to hold in your hand a genuine artifact of one of Rome's most infamous, "mad" emperors. That's what you have, and it can be a real source of pleasure and interest. Perhaps these coins will inspire a greater interest in ancients.

That Caligula is a fairly common but still much sought-after type. Here's mine--itself a bit of a modest example I hope to upgrade one day.

5. Gavin Richardson

Gavin Richardson Well-Known Member

Here's a write-up I did for my Caligula a while back: