Yet another dipping question - ugly Morgan

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by mill rat41, Feb 28, 2012.

1. mill rat41

mill rat41 Member

I was interested in some Morgans during the last Goldberg auction live session, but having never used their site before I wanted to make sure there wasn't a bidding/internet delay of some sort so I bid on this Morgan which was well below auction estimate. I figured my "test bid" would be outbid, but sure enough the hammer fell on me and I won it - no biggie I payed the man. I did win the ones I wanted - future thread.

Anyway, this Morgan has the thickest brown and grey toning I have ever seen. But if you hold it at a steep angle, there is some really nice color underneath the brown. Would/could a real quick dip remove the unattractive toning; yet preserve the nice underlying colors? The reverse is a real blazer with very few marks. I won't be trying anything on my own - I have no experience with this sort of thing. Anyone have ideas what causes such toning? FWIW it is graded MS64 NGC.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. zach67005

zach67005 Active Member

FWIW, I would leave it in the slab.

4. gbroke

gbroke Naturally Toned

You will absolutely not be able to just remove the brown and salvage the attractive toning. Dipping reacts extremely quick and you cannot control its path. In fact, I would bet it eats the colored toning before it removes the brown. I would leave that one in the slab, unless you are ok with it removing all of the toning.

5. LostDutchman

LostDutchman Under Staffed & Overly Motivated Supporter

Yep... It's pretty much all or none when dipping... I also probably wouldn't do that particular coin. It won't come out. I would bet the surfaces have been damaged by that toning. It doesn't look like it has nearly the underlying luster to warrant a dip. The darker the toning... The more likely it has damaged the surface.

6. mill rat41

mill rat41 Member