Would like opinion on authenticity of tetradrachm (Athens)

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Matthew D, Nov 5, 2018.

1. Matthew D

Matthew D New Member

Hi Guys,

Been reading for years, now finally have a question that I'd like someone's opinion on.
    Looking to buy this coin from a reputable website (VCoins), would really appreciate your input. I am somewhat newer to ancients and there none of my LCS have experience in them.

Any help is appreciated, let me know should you need anymore info.

Thanks,
    Matt

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. TypeCoin971793

TypeCoin971793 Just a random guy on the internet

I’m not an expert, but it looks good to me

Paul M. likes this.
  4. TIF

TIF Always learning.

Looks perfectly fine to me. Was there something about it that made you question its authenticity?

Paul M. likes this.
  5. Bing

Bing Illegitimi non carborundum Supporter

AND once again, I agree with @TIF

Paul M. likes this.
  6. Matthew D

Matthew D New Member

I would have liked to see the (dot) in the O, but I know that doesn't always mean much. I guess the part that threw me off is the "discount" from the seller. Asking price was 1300.00 (a little over priced), I asked for his best price and he came back with 850.00

Sounds a little on the inexpensive side for the coin in this condition. Thanks guys for the quick responses.

Matt

7. Jay GT4

Jay GT4 Well-Known Member

A hoard of thousands hit the market in the summer. Maybe he thinks the price will drop. I dont think it will.

8. Matthew D

Matthew D New Member

I feel the same as you do. Well, I just ordered the coin; thanks for the supporting confidence.

9. Ken Dorney

Ken Dorney Yea, I'm Cool That Way...