Wondering about two $5 coins

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by ccarroll, May 27, 2015.

1. ccarroll

ccarroll Member

Not sure if this should be here or the "What's It Worth?" forum.

I have two $5 gold coins which, I thought were described as Liberty Bust, but maybe it's Half Eagle. I don't yet have a snapshot of my own, but this is the image from an Ebay example:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/121656908629?lpid=82&chn=ps

I'm hoping to sell one of them, even though I admit I'm having a hard time trying to find an interested buyer in New York City (which surprises me). One is 1899, and the other is 1880 but that one also has a small "cc" under the eagle. The wear is probably about the same (I'm new at this, but maybe VF?). Does the "cc" indicate anything meaningful in terms of value/price? (And if you're going to float some numbers, could you let me know if those are retail prices, or what a dealer would offer me?)

Thanks for any insight.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. beef1020

beef1020 Junior Member

You will need to post pictures of the coins to get any sense of value. The value depends on the quality of the coin, and can range from $400-$4,000 for the 1899 and $400-$40,000 for the 1880 CC (Carson City mint).

Just curious, what do you mean when you say you are not finding an interested buyer in New York. Did you try a coin dealer, a pawn shop? What did they say?

4. messydesk

messydesk Well-Known Member

Retail on an 80-CC in VF is $1100. Should be easy to sell to a reputable coin dealer, as should the 1899, which is pretty much a bullion coin. Look at pcgs.com/photograde, then navigate to the $5 Liberty coins to get a better feel for the grade. One thing that can kill the value of the 80-CC is if the coin has been harshly cleaned or otherwise damaged.

5. jwitten

jwitten Well-Known Member

And these almost always go for over bullion, so they are not just a bullion coin, unless they are in really bad condition

6. ccarroll